Skip to content

One Ton Chun.

October 10, 2007

Not many of you know this (except for the occasional family members that glance at my page) that my Aunt Susie and I are pretty close in age… she is a little over 10 years older than me. She and her husband, Zac, have one son. He is my namesake. Nicholas. Nick is my one ton chun (I call him that because he was almost 10 lbs when he was born and had a major mega dome). Now he is getting ready to turn 6. I can’t believe he is getting so old.

When Nick was 18 months, we almost lost him. He was saved by my Aunt. I will give you the readers digest version of what happened:

It was raining hard outside. My Aunt was in the bathroom connected to the living room installed a thing on  the toilet so Nick wouldn’t drown in it. She had just put him in that U shaped boppie thing in front of the TV. She had also just let the dogs in from the fenced off dog run because they were freaking out because of the rain. The 2 dogs had clawed a dinner plate sized hole in the mesh fence. She left the front door open so the dogs could go in and out of the gated courtyard. Literally 3 minutes later, she looked around into the living room to check on Nick. He was gone. She ran into the front yard to see if he had followed the dogs outside. He wasn’t there. She immediately ran to their pool. She found him face down in the pool. She ran, unlocked the gate and jumped in. The previous weekend, she had taken her CPR classes. She called 9-1-1 and  the guy on the phone counted for her until the paramedics came. He was blue, ice cold, and double his size because of all the water he inhaled. He had no pulse, but the paramedics got a faint one as they put him in the ambulance.  Doctors put him into a drug induced comma for 24 hours so his body could get rid of all the water and he wouldn’t feel any pain. There was a 50% chance that he would have brain damage. Well, 2 days later, he came out the his comma. I was rounding the hallway to go to his room when I saw him, in his little smock and IV stand, walking around outside of him room. He looked at me and said “Colie!”So, needless to say, he is my heart. He is so smart (fluent in 3 languages) and is in kindergarten. He knows how to read and is sooo good at playing Guitar Hero with my brother, boyfriend and I. He called me today to see if I wanted to come see him play t-ball on Saturday morning, then go to the park, then play with him at home. So cute. I said sure, of course. Then I asked him if he was learning anything at school… he said no. Funny kid.

So, I just thought I would shat a little about my Nick. He is a freaking hilarious kid and I love him so much.

nick & me 2

me & nick 1

Hes my mini me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

