Skip to content

Once In A While.

October 30, 2007

The last couple of days (actually weeks) has been beyond grueling.

I am quitting my job. Today (hopefully). This event is a long time coming. It is no secret I hate it here – well, maybe to some of my co-workers, but who cares really? Everything about this place lately makes my skin crawl. I have been offered another position in a company that is constantly growing in Southern Cali, so it is definitely time to move on… Waaaaay on. I do feel bad for one person. The owner. He has no idea what his management staff has done to this place. How are you going to coordinate 27 stores and 30 trades-people’s schedules with 1 manager who does nothing (and I mean nothing) and 1 who complains about EVERYTHING but gets some (very little) work done. This business is doomed and I don’t want to be around to see it fall. It is going to get ugly. Who knows, it might get ugly today. Kelly’s last day was on Friday… my last day will probably be next Friday… so basically they are up $hit creek. Did I mention the haven’t even interviewed for the 2 people that have already left this year… wow.

Moving on… in sadder and way more important to my well being news: my grandma is dying. After 5 years of battling pancreatic cancer, she is finally throwing in the towel. The cancer has spread to her lungs, liver, and stomach. For those of you who read this and are family or close friends… you know how devastating this is. She is everything to my family. Everything. I have been visiting her everyday and she seems okay with it. Her mind is still recognizing people and places and she knows what is going on. She is at home (which is where she wants to be ) and hospice should be coming in starting tomorrow to make things more comfortable for her (and my Aunt who has been living there for a couple of weeks now). But I can’t type anymore about it or I will start crying…

On the craft front:

My fall swap package is done – well, almost… I have a few more odds and ends to throw in there, but otherwise it is done. Yippee. This was a very labor intensive swap for my first one. I really hope Erin likes what I made for her. It was just an exciting experience. I think I might do a X-Mas one too… but who knows.

But now, after cleaning my craft area yesterday… I have mountains of yarn, fabric and stuffing spewed all over the living room… Peter doesn’t mind (surprisingly) because of everything that has been going on… so I appreciate that.  He wants me to crochet him a hat or brimmed beanie. I haven’t found a pattern I like, so if you have ideas, let me know… I am always on the search.

I have been working on my granny square Afghan over the past couple of days… it is coming along nicely. I really like it. I can tell my stitches are becoming more defined. I think I am really dusting off the cob webs and getting my bearings back after a couple years off… it is really satisfying.

I took 1 million pictures at my grandmas house on Saturday that I plan on posting later today (when I get home). They are awesome. 

Well, after today my life will be a little less stressful… so I will be able to keep up on the blogging… This is a good venting place believe it or not.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2007 12:37 pm

    I am so sorry about your grandmother. Enjoy your time with her—there is nothing else to say, there really are no words. But heal through this Blog, I just lost my grandmother in January so I can at least help you cope 🙂 I’ll be here reading

Leave a Reply

