Skip to content

Setting It Straight For my G-Ma.

September 2, 2008

I just thought I would do a little clarifying of a post I did before the long weekend. This one to be exact.

I got a few comments that pretty much stated that I had no idea what I was talking about. While I am not the avid Dead Head follower my Grandmother was in any way, shape, or form (and I never claimed to be), I certainly know her and what she passed on to me. She was Grateful Dead fan to the core. And yes, in the words of commenter #4 (Rich), she was fan enough in a “way that’s got her hair and her flowered dress flying out like a mushroom cap”. But beyond her enjoyment of the Grateful Dead music, she was Jerry Garcia fan. For her, it was more than the music; it was the presence of Jerry that really drew her in and fueled her. I am sure she enjoyed the various group rekindlings that have happened over the years and obviously would have enjoyed them in the years to come, but it would have never come close to the original. Never, well, at least for her and that is all that I can speak for.

Till next time… this is my Grandma.

I Miss You!

I Miss You!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 9:48 am

    Great photo. It a very telling the piece you wrote about your grandmom.

Leave a Reply

