Skip to content

What A Burn…

September 2, 2008

I am notorious for burning myself. I generally try to stick to flat irons, curling irons, and baking sheets as forms of burns I leave myself susceptible to, but there is always the flook moment where something catches me out of nowhere – like my freaking iron (clothes iron) yesterday. Ugh. I literally (and not intentionally) rested my middle finger on the edge of the iron when it was heating up. Don’t ask me how I did it, because I really have no idea what so ever, but it happened. For an hour, I was taking it in and out of cool water mixed with vinegar. According to my culinary school educated boyfriend (and one who accidentally deep fired his fingers which resulted in 2nd and third degree burns), the acid is supposed to neutralize the burn. HMMMM… this got me to thinking – what are you supposed to do when you get a maybe 1st degree burn:

Causes of Burns – The most common sources of thermal burns are heat and fire. Scalds or extremely hot steams are also known to be the cause of thermal burns in households especially for children and housewives.
Medical Attention – If you’re suffering from too much pain, it is advisable that you seek your doctor’s advice for necessary treatment. If sensitive areas like eyes, joints, hands, feet, ears, genitals, or joints are affected, request for emergency medical attention.

It is recommended that you see a doctor in these following situations:

• The thickness of the burn grows more than twice its original size
• When the thickness appears to be charred, dry and numb
• Majority of your body is swelling due to the burn
• If you have difficulty in breathing
• If unconsciousness results from the thermal burn

Treatment – Certain medications are available for burn treatments. One example is a topical antibiotic which can contain triple major ingredients namely Silvadene, Neosporin, and Bacitracin. Pain relievers are also sufficient to alleviate the pain born from the burn. Some of the common over-the-counter pain relievers are acetaminophen andibuprofen. If severe pain still persists, doctors may recommend Tylenol as an anesthetic pain reliever.

Medical experts have their own common procedures on attending heat or thermal burns. The burned area is cleansed before removing damaged or dead tissues. But blisters that may have developed on the hands and feet may be left untouched to avoid further pain.

Heat Burns – Heat Burn Treatments

I was relieved to find out that what I did will cause minimal damage. HAHA. So, about this acid neutralizer business? Well, with the little searching I did via Google, I didn’t find much, so I am just going to take the boyfriends word… it seemed to work.

Till Next Time.

It was the middle one that got the burn... HAHA

It was the middle one that got the burn... HAHA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

