Skip to content

I Could Save How Much? You’ve Got To Be $hitting Me!

November 13, 2008

Over at My Two Dollars, there was a little piece on how much ones salary can go if you lived in another city. Me, wanting to eventually move out of sunny Southern California, was itching to see how much of a difference it really could be living in another city – and how much I could save. Southern California, especially Orange County, is not a cheap place to live. We have a newly renovated 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment that we pay $1340.00 a month for. And when we get a dog, add $50.00 a month to that plus the $500.00 pet deposit. Yeah.

Cost Of Living

Cost Of Living

I want to be a Bostonian in the worst way. And If we moved to Boston,

Groceries will cost: 3% more

Housing will cost: 43% less

Utilities will cost: 80% more

Transportation will cost: 5% less

Healthcare will cost: 17% more

I have always known that the cost of living in Boston is comparable to Orange County, and that is one of the main reasons I haven’t moved there already (that and convincing the Boyfriend that it is a wise choice!). I also gave it a try for a couple of the other places I wouldn’t mind living (even though I have never been to any of the places. They just seem nice and I have heard good things).
PORTAND, OR

Groceries will cost: 7% less

Housing will cost: 53% less

Utilities will cost: 7% more

Transportation will cost: 2% less

Healthcare will cost: 3% less

SEATTLE, WA

Groceries will cost: 7% more
Housing will cost: 42% less
Utilities will cost: 1% more
Transportation will cost: 0% less
Healthcare will cost: 6% more
Till Next Time!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jade permalink
    November 13, 2008 2:10 pm

    That does it! We’re moving to Oregon. All four of us… seriously what will I do without you if you move to Boston?!?! I dread the day…

  2. November 14, 2008 11:42 am

    I’ve got a move coming up, this is good info…

Leave a Reply

