Skip to content

It Was Like A Movie – A Horrifing, Horrifing Movie.

November 17, 2008

Okay, I have gone all weekend telling everyone I know about the events leading up to Friday nights (well early Saturday mornings) terrible occurrence. And in doing so I have learned a lot about what I cherish most in this world and that life is too short for petty situations.

DUI suspected in fatal HB collision

The driver who slammed into the victim’s car was believed to be intoxicated.

The Orange County Register

 

 

HUNTINGTON BEACH A 20-year-old man was killed early this morning after his car was hit by a man who police believe was intoxicated.

The unidentified man was stopped at a red light on Goldenwest Street at Edinger Avenue, when a white Honda Accord heading north slammed into his Ford Mustang at about 1:40 a.m.

“The Mustang caught fire and was fully engulfed as a result of the collision. No one was able to rescue the driver,” according to a police department release.

The driver, identified as 21-year-old Kenneth John McNair of La Mirada, then sideswiped another car stopped at the light before crashing into a 2006 Peterbilt semi tractor and trailer.

The drivers of the other two vehicles were not injured, police said.

The victim was pronounced dead at 1:42 a.m. His name is being withheld pending identification and notification of his family.

McNair was arrested on suspicion of felony driving under the influence and vehicular manslaughter.

Police said the cause of the collision, however, remains under investigation and is asking anyone who might have seen the crash to contact Huntington Beach Police at 714-536-5670.

Contact the writer: 714-796-7813 or jmuir@ocregister.com

Article: OC Register.

I don’t even know where to begin. I didn’t see the accident happen, but the guy who caused this accident missed my Boyfriend’s sister by about 3 feet before he side swiped the car in front of her, then hit the mustang (causing it to go up in flames), and then hit the semi. The Boyfriend, Kenny, Jade and I got there before the the fire trucks where there – we watched this poor kid burn to death. There was nothing anyone could do. Brandon (the Boyfriend’s sister’s boyfriend) and their friend Cody, ran out of their car to help, but once the got 20 feet from the car, the flames and heat were too intense to do anything. We prayed, cried, gave statements, and stood there is horror until about 4am. All three would describe it as a movie, complete with flame trail before the car burst into flames. You never think you will see anything like it.

I also kind of lost faith in HB finest this night – let me explain why before everyone gets all bagiggity. We had to park in the Goldenwest College parking lot because the 2 cop cars that were there were starting to block off the street. Being the concerned “sister” that I am, I found the nearest cop I could find to help me find Patty (the Boyfriend’s sister). So, I ran up to this cop – as I am running, he tells me to get out of the street. I tell him that “my sister was a witness to this accident, and I need to find her. Where are they putting the witnesses so they can give statements?” And this fucking [excuse my language] cops says to me (keep in mind the car is completely engulfed and tires are exploding) “She isn’t in the car is she? If she witnessed it, she is in that corner over there. Stay out of the street.”  I looked at this guy and just said (as I am running to the corner where he didn’t even point to) “Way to an insensitive douche bag, you idiot“. Whether he heard me or not remains to be seen, but I said it loud enough for him to. I mean, you says that? Oh yeah, I really hope your sister isn’t the one burning alive right now, you better go check. So, yeah, needless to say I was pissed – but more thankful that Patty, Brandon, and Cody were okay.

Okay, I am officially going to end this depressing post. I just hope everyone really looks at this story and evaluates what is really important in life. Seeing this happen really effected me, and I hope reading this will effect you too.

Stay tuned for a happier post. I promise it is coming.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    December 4, 2008 3:00 am

    😦

    The victim was my close friend. Rest in Peace Checo.

  2. lee permalink
    December 11, 2008 7:45 pm

    His name was Jose Pacheco. He was a junior at CSULB. I knew him since kindergarden. He was a really nice guy. Rest in peace Jose.

Trackbacks

  1. Word To Your Mom: Extravaganza Edition. « Knockout Niki Presents.

Leave a Reply

