Skip to content

It’s On Like F’ing Donkey Kong!

December 5, 2008

Hypothetically speaking of course. This is a warning – long post ahead.

I was just a little taken aback today with I logged on to the the ole’ blog; not by the upgrades [are you kidding, those are freaking awesome] but by a little incoming link I had. Let me give you a little excerpt from the post that is prompting this post…

There are many websites, stores, and blogs that put materialistic things on pedestals. They insert the false fact into a persons head that without these things they aren’t as good, and aren’t as pretty.Cherry Blossom Girl. Even though I enjoy reading her blog and think that that pictures she take are beautiful, her blog has that superficial vibe that I am talking about. That you can’t have beauty without the right accessories.Knock Out Niki Presents

A friend of mine has been keeping up with some blogs like this, the one she follows the most is

Similar blogs are:

Le Blog De Betty

Unejeune Demoiselle

Le Blog De La Mechante

Cachemire & Sole

And just because I don’t understand what the words are saying, doesn’t mean that I can’t understand what the blog is saying. Clothes are beauty. Well, I think that beauty is beauty and I wish that more people could see it that way too.

via: Megan Hates Mr. Miller

Now, for those of you who know me, I am pretty rational about most things and don’t let much bother me, but her post kind of threw me over the edge because a) she doesn’t know me and b) I have never bashed someone over my blog – well, except my old, old boss, but she was a bitch and knew it. Anyway, here is what I posted back to her… it took two comments because I re-read the post after my first comment:

Interesting post. I am Nicole from Knockout Niki and I think using the word superficial to describe me or any of these women [and their respective blogs] is a little, to be blunt, out of line. Fashion, whether you know your style or not, is about putting pieces together that make you feel good – and if that includes great accessories, then so be it. Alix (Cherry Blossom Girl) is a good example of this. She is a simple girl with simple tastes; and hence her outfits are simple.

I, on the other hand, own a lot of thrifted outfits that are from all over the fashion spectrum. So, for me, accessories (belts, necklaces, rings, shoes, etc) tie all those pieces together to get some sort of cohesiveness.

And when you used the word superficial, defined as “shallow, lacking substance” [thanks google], I kind of got offended. Everyone is different. That is what this blogoshpere so great – especially the fashion sector. Interests, styles, and knowledge about fashion are going to vary from blog to blog, person to person – and rightly should. Classifying someone or someone’s blog as “superficial” without knowing their history is kind of rude.

I take a lot of pride in my blog, my style, my life [as if you couldn’t tell by now] and I think you should look a little deeper into people and their blogs before you make general assumptions.

Not bad, right? I think I was very diplomatic. Okay, the second comment:

And you know what? I just read your post again [this time all the way through] and realized one thing: you’re right. But don’t get on your high horse just yet.

You’re right in one respect: clothes and accessories don’t make a person what they are or show how beautiful of a person they are.

What makes a person beautiful is their acceptance and understanding of others – whether you have just met them or have known them for years. I don’t know anything about and you, surely, you don’t know anything about me. You have no idea why I love fashion, thrifting, knitting, sewing, Rockabilly bands, tattoos, french bulldogs, Guitar Hero, or hot air balloons. You have no idea because you have no concern about reading deeper into my life [easily done by looking into my past posts]. You have no idea and therefore shouldn’t make assumptions.

And in turn, I don’t know what has gone on in you’re life that makes you go around calling people you don’t even know superficial, or why you care that people don’t tell you look nice in sweats, or why you think we don’t consider everyone beautiful. I don’t know why, but right now, I don’t care.

I hope that one day you will meet one of us and see what we are really like. Most of us are jeans and boyfriend’s t-shirt girls 80% of the time. We hang at home with people we care about most and blog about things that interest us – and we can do it with bashing other people.

Like you’re elders have always said – do unto others as you would have done unto you. Be nice.

From a very early age, I was taught that last part: be nice to others and others will be nice to you – that straightmy grandmothers mouth. But, I guess it has occurred to some people that my blog and I are superficial and I am going to set that straight with a few little personal tid bits about myself.

1. I am madly in love. the Boyfriend and I have had plenty of rough patches (especially this year) but we are working them out. I love him more than anything in this life and the next. I cannot wait for what awaits us in the future. I cannot wait to grow old with him. His green eyes make me melt.

Pete

2.I miss my Kee-Kee more than anything. My Grandmother was and still is my hero. I have never missed someone so badly. I wish she were here. Everyday, I wish. When she passed, I got the majority of her hot air balloon pins. Every time I look at them, I see her.

3. My little cousin almost died when he was 18 months old. He “drowned” in his pool while my Aunt was installing baby guards on the toilet. Luckily, she found him and did CPR (which we had learned the weekend before) and got him breathing while the paramedics came.  He almost dying scared me for life.

4. I have 4 [well 5] best girl friends. Brianne, Jade, Amanda, and Patty (the Boyfriend’s sister). These girls know everything there is to know about me – and, without any doubt, truly except me for who I really am. Diana is new to the group, but she is just as awesome.

5. My parents have been married for almost 30 years. It still surprises me, but they are really in it for the long haul. They fight, party, go to concerts, cuddle, and cook dinner for eachother like every other couple. It is kinda gross and heart-warming all at the same time.

6. My Grandparents have been married for almost 50 years. They got married at 17 and had my mom like 5 months later. A little suspect? Yes. But I have never met two more compatible people in my life.

7. My Great-Grandma (Gi-Gi) taught me everything I know about art and fashion. It is an understatement when I say she was a bit eccentric.Various colors of sequence leggings, off the shoulder shirts, ballet flats, and bleach blond hair was her uniform until she died – at age 90. She smoked 3 packs a day until then too. She was a painter, loved living by the beach, hated skateboarders and heckled them, and had 20 something grand kids and 30 something great-grand kids. And yet she always found time to give us change to go down to the penny arcade.

8. I get so anxious about money, sometimes I puke. I was so terrible with money for so long, that now I am overcompensating, I think. But my financial life is soooo much better for it – so the puking happens less.

9. When I was 12 or 13, I got into a fight with a girl in my driveway. I broke her wrist. But I have never fought like that again, not even with my baby brother, which is surprising.

10. I would rather be barefoot then with shoes. I am mean literally everywhere. I am one of those disgusting girls that would go into a public restroom with no shoes on (woohooo, Britney!). I just don’t care. I am pretty hygienic for the most part, and I don’t see the real issue. It could be snowing outside and I would still rather be barefoot. I have cute feet and I take care of them so, whats the big deal?

11. My new favorite drinking game is flip cup. Cause it is rad. Screw BP (beer pong). Flip Cup is where it is at. My “team” is pictured below.

The Team

12. I can understand most written and spoken German. But if you ask me to speak or write it… well. Ya. I suck.

13. I lost 65 pounds. So, yes, I have body issues. I am still not comfortable in my body, but that is getting better. I don’ t think or have ever thought that whatever I am wearing makes me more or less beautiful. If I feel like shit, I will look like shit. Period. But being able to go to a store and find a ton of clothes that look nice and fit does give a girl a confidence boost – it does not make me superficial.

15. I have way more guy friends then girls. I think this is mostly because I am tomboyish in a way. Girls, obviously, tend to be petty, catty, annoying, etc and usually never like me cause, lets be honest, I am a wee bit brash. The girl friends I do have are like me and that is why we get along so well.

16. I cuss like a FUCKING sailor. I don’t know why. No one really cusses around me except for Amanda, and she half way across the Pacific ocean from me – but it definitely gets worse when she is visiting though :). Actually, my Grandma does cuss a lot. Shit. Shit. Shit. HA.

17. I got married at 18. And got divorced at 20. Those 2 years were the hardest 2 years I have ever had to go through. But this is a story for a very differnt day – if at all. I clearly only talk about it to people who need to know. I am not ashamed. Leaving him was the best decision I ever made. That is all you need to know.

Well, there is more, lots more, but I have re-read this like twice and every time I get to the part about my Kee-Kee, I burst into tears. Ugh.

But for those of you who thought I was “superficial” and that my blog’s purpose was to prove that “clothes = beauty”, you are sadly mistaking. I write about what interests me – whether that is $1000.00 shoes, the hand-me-downs I got from Jade’s mom, or monkey’s doing back flips, none of it is superficial.

Well, till next time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jade permalink
    December 5, 2008 7:18 pm

    I am proud to call you my friend. You’re amazing. Oh and Kenny and I love that picture of Peter.

    • December 8, 2008 9:19 am

      I am proud to call you my friend too! My best friend! And yes, Peter is hilarious. I do love him so.

  2. December 7, 2008 7:16 am

    Niki, were we separated at birth? lol There’s a number of things that you have posted that I can relate to.

    Remain true to who you are Niki.

    Hugs to you.
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

