Skip to content

Spelling Is Not My, Well, Forte.

December 11, 2008

I have been a terrible speller since birth. My mom is a terrible speller, my dad is a terrible speller, my brother is a terrible speller… but I would like to think I this gene that is so obviously dominant in my family gene pool is slowly becoming recessive – well, at least with me… my brother is a lost cause.

Once I started college again, I decided that for the betterment of my grades and procrastination habits, that I needed to learn how to catch my own spelling mistakes. When you do things at the last minute [ahem] and do little to no revisions, you have to be on top of your shit.

There are two words in the English language that I CONSTANTLY spell wrong. 10 to 1 I spell them wrong every time. Those words are: definitely and restaurant. Even as I just typed them, I literally had to slow down my typing to make sure I did it right. How sad is that, right? I would like to think that my love for Scrabble is contributing to my no-spelling-error way of life, but that is only good for 2-7 letter words… damn. HAHA

The worst, for me, is blogging. I have oodles of shit going on in my head on a daily basis that, when I actually sit down and type it all out, I go nuts. Thank God for spell check – but I am trying not to rely on that.

And as a test – and because I am THAT bored – I am typing this post in WordPress’ new “Quick Post” thingamajig – which has to spell check. EEEKK. I am only going to re-read it once, and then out into the blogosphere it goes.

I wonder how many mistakes there are going to be? If you notice any, leave me a comment.

This should be interesting. Well, lets see how good my editing skills are.

Peace and Love Blog Homies.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 12:50 pm

    GOSH DANG IT! I found one. ““Quick Post” thingamajig – which has to spell check”…. the TO is supposed to be a NO. DAMN DAMN DAMN!

  2. December 12, 2008 9:43 am

    lol, my wordpress spell check doesn’t work. all i ever get is error messages!

Leave a Reply

