Skip to content

Hel-Looks Inspiration

February 12, 2009

It is really odd how I discovered this website. Originally, I wanted to do a Chloë Sevigny inspiration post; and whilst Googling images, I ran across one of my favorite blogs, The Clothes Horse. She had done a post about Chloe, but it was another one of her posts that caught my eye: one on Hel-Looks.

According to the site, Hel-Looks is “selected street fashion from Helsinki, the capital of Finland. The pictures are taken in the streets and clubs of Helsinki from July 2005 onwards”. Here are a few of my favorites:

Photos: HEL LOOKS

Can I just side track for a second and say how the last girl has a striking resemblance to Pippi Longstocking? Long lost twins? I think so.

Seeing sites like these makes me want to start my own street fashion site, but then I remember I live in Orange County, CA suburbia and no one can think for themselves – expect for me and my people, naturally. Hee Hee. But, I even find myself being so self conscience about what I look like and what others will think and how I dress. This is beyond lame. I am just glad there are sites like Hel-Looks that promote individuality. It gives me hope and confidence.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 10:31 am

    Lol @ Pippi

  2. February 12, 2009 11:11 am

    I totally forgot about Hel-Looks, that is a great site. I love the first look.

    I know what you mean about being self-conscious. When I lived in London I wore what I wanted but back in Seattle.. if I decide to wear tights with shorts, I get looks. Its kind of ridiculous.

  3. February 12, 2009 11:12 am

    I like the 2nd to last one. It’s neat.
    <3sc

  4. itsmelimel permalink
    February 12, 2009 11:39 am

    this has nothing to do with your post, although i very much enjoyed it.
    we don’t look like twins, you have more bangs than I do =)

  5. February 12, 2009 1:58 pm

    the scarves are awesome!

  6. February 12, 2009 2:34 pm

    wow super stylish girls love these pics !!!

  7. frauhauf permalink
    February 12, 2009 5:06 pm

    I lived in Scandinavia. They’re all that fashionable and it just seems to come naturally. It helps that there are a million shops selling those beautiful coats.

    Jealous.

Leave a Reply

